Toyota and Lexus dominate retained value awards

Awards go to 2007 model-year vehicles retaining the highest percentage of their original MSRP over the past four years across 17 categories.

February 16, 2011
by Fleet Management staff

TORONTO: As they did in 2010, Toyota and Lexus together scored the most winners in this year’s Canadian Black Book “Best Retained Value Awards”, earning six number one spots.

Volkswagen increased its number of first-place finishes to three. New to the winner’s circle are Volvo with two awards, along with Jaguar and Jeep winning one each.

“Depreciation is the largest expense associated with vehicle ownership and for six years these awards have helped buyers identify which vehicles depreciate the least,” says Kathy Ward, CEO of Canadian Black Book.  “Consumers want as much information as they can get when buying or selling a vehicle.  These awards along with the vehicle future value tool on, help consumers make smart vehicle purchase decisions.”

“This year’s awards are particularly exciting given the new winners in several categories,” says Larry Shred, president of Canadian Black Book.  “Some of the old-faithfuls have returned, reinforcing the strength of their brands through thick-and-thin, while other new winners motivate everyone to keep up their game.  This raises the bar for our entire industry and ultimately, it is the consumers who win.”

Awards go to 2007 model-year vehicles retaining the highest percentage of their original MSRP over the past four years across 17 categories.

The winners are:


Sub-compact: Volkswagen New Beetle

Compact:     Volkswagen City Golf

Mid-size car:         Subaru Outback

Full-size car:     Toyota Avalon

Entry luxury car:    Volvo C30

Luxury car:     Volvo S80
Premium luxury car:   Lexus LS Series

Premium Sports car:   Jaguar XK

Sports car:    Volkswagen GTI


Small pick-up:           Toyota Tacoma

Full-size pick-up:    Toyota Tundra

Minivan:           Honda Odyssey

Full-size van:     Dodge Sprinter


Compact SUV:   Jeep Wrangler

Mid-size SUV:    Toyota FJ Cruiser

Full-size SUV:      Toyota Sequoia

Luxury SUV:       Mercedes-Benz G-Class

For more information and the complete list of winners visit: