Chrysler, Porsche take team honours at Targa Newfoundland

Chrysler and Porsche make off with brand awards at the 10th Targa Newfoundland which finished on September 16th.

September 21, 2011
by Canadian Automotive Review staff

The Chrysler Group has won the Manufacturers’ Challenge at the 2011 Targa Newfoundland with its Dodge SRT brand. The group won with first place class finish for the 2008 Viper driven by Ralph Gilles and navigated by Jen Horsey and for the 2008 Challenger SRT driven by Rob Pacione and co-piloted by Brian Maxwell. The third team in the group, driven by George Notaras had a ninth place class finish in their 2011 Challenger SRT.

Porsche took home the Kenzie Cup for Marque Teams with a first place finish by Scott Giannou and Ray Felice in their 1981 911, and third place finishes for Rick MacLeod and Steve McKelvie in their 2008 Cayenne and for Tom Collingwood and Ashley Hollett in their 2007 GT3RS. GM finished second in the Cup contest with two Camaros and a Corvette, while Mazda, Subaru and Chrysler all tied for third.

The overall winners of the 2011 Targa were:

The Open Division was won by Rob Pacione and Brian Maxwell in the 2008 Dodge Challenger SRT8. The Classic Division was won by Scott Giannou and his Ontario based navigator Ray Felice in their 1981 Porsche 911. This is the second win of the Classic Division by this team. The Modern Division saw the return of father and son team, Brian and Matthew Oldford in their 2004 Subaru WRX at the podium. In the Grand Touring Equipped Division, locals Justin Crant and Justin Russell drove their 1997 VW Golf Trek to a perfect ending, taking no penalty points. This is the second win for this local team.