Dr. Edy Wong wins Garner Thermoin award

Dr. Wong also received the PMAC Fellow award in June, 2012

December 3, 2012
by Purchasing b2b staff
TORONTO–Dr. Edy Wong has received the 2012 Garner Themoin award from the International Federation of Purchasing and Supply Management (IFPSM). Dr. Wong is the associate dean (international) and director of the Centre for International Business Studies (CIBS) at the School of Business, University of Alberta and a member of the Purchasing Management Association of Canada (PMAC).
The Garner Themoin Award recognizes an individual’s efforts to further the advancement of the supply chain profession. Dr. Wong is one of two recipients of the award this year.
In June 2012 Dr. Wong, FPMAC, also received the PMAC Fellow award, the highest honour the association gives to its members, as part of PMAC’s annual Awards of Distinction. The recipient is recognized as having demonstrated the highest excellence in supply chain management, commitment to and pride in PMAC, and a civic-mindedness which earns the community’s respect of the member, and through the member, of the supply chain management profession. Fellows of PMAC are awarded the privilege of using the FPMAC designation.
PMAC Awards of Distinction winners are put forward each year for possible recognition by the IFPSM for its annual awards program, which consists of three awards: The Garner Themoin Award for Advancement of the Profession, the Hans Ovelgonne Award for Purchasing Research and the Lewis E. Spangler Award for Purchasing Professionals.
Individuals interested in nominating a deserving SCM professional or organization for one of PMAC’s 2013 Awards of Distinction can visit the association’s website at to obtain information and nomination forms. Nominations for the 2013 PMAC Awards of Distinction close December 31, 2012.