Canada’s top sustainability leaders honoured by Clean50

List was drawn from over 500 nominations including 10 Emerging Leaders

October 17, 2016
Purchasing B2B


Toronto—The 2017 list of “Canada’s Clean50” winners celebrates the accomplishments of 50 sustainability leaders drawn from 16 different sectors. Led by Rachel Notley, Premier of Alberta and Glenn Murray, Ontario’s Minister of the Environment and Climate Change, Canada’s 2017 Clean50 champions have achieved measurable results in fighting climate change and are the drivers helping Canada shift toward a low carbon and more prosperous future.

On September 22, over 100 past and incoming members of the Clean50 gathered in Toronto for the Clean50 Summit 6.0 to debate solutions to problems caused by climate change and seeking ways to collaborate and accelerate solutions. The debate was followed by a dinner and awards ceremony.

“[The] 2017 Clean50 winners Premier Notley and Minister Murray have made enormous contributions to protecting the environment, pivoting Alberta towards a much cleaner energy path and leading Ontario’s move to price carbon,” said Clean50 executive director and Delta Management Group CEO Gavin Pitchford.

The list was drawn from over 500 nominations and also includes 10 Emerging Leaders, and the Top 15 sustainability projects of the year.

“The winners come from across the country and represent a wide range of backgrounds that include pioneering wind farmers from BC and vertical food farmers from New Brunswick,” Pitchford added. “Each of the Clean50 winners has made a distinct and measurable contribution towards fighting climate change and building a better future for Canadians.”

This year’s award winners will receive plaques fashioned from the famous “Maple Leaf Forever” tree, which is said to have inspired Alexander Muir to pen Canada’s unofficial anthem in 1867.

Past honourees include Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne, Quebec Premier Phillippe Couillard, Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson, and Galen G. Weston.

2017 Clean50 Winners

Bryan Gilvesy – ALUS Canada* (Tillsonburg, ON)
Lynn Bishop – ALUS Canada* (Toronto)
Lara Ellis – ALUS Canada* (Toronto)
Dave Reid ALUS Canada* (Simcoe, ON))
Robert Shirkey – Our Horizon (Toronto)

Andrée-Lise Méthot – Cycle Capital Management (Montreal)
Jane Kearns – MaRS Discovery District* (Montreal)
Denis Leclerc – Écotech Québec* (Montreal)
Jonathan Rhone – BC Cleantech CEO All Jonathan Rhone – BC Cleantech CEO Alliance* (Vancouver)
Jason Switzer – Alberta Clean Technology Industry Alliance * (Calgary)
Rod Lever – Cowater International (Ottawa)
Nicholas Parker – Global Acceleration Partners Inc. (Toronto)

Andrew Bowerbank – EllisDon Corporation (Mississauga)
Candice Luck – buildABILITY Corporation (Toronto)
Jeanne Medland – KingSett Capital (Toronto)
Philip Gillin – Sun Life Financial (Toronto)

Priyanka Lloyd – Sustainability CoLab* (Kitchener –Waterloo)
Mike Morrice – Sustainability CoLab* (Kitchener –Waterloo)
Brian Denney – Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (Toronto)

Clean Tech
Vincent Chornet – Enerkem (Montreal)
Jeff Addison – Kiko Water Systems (Vancouver)
Guy Drouin – Biothermica Carbone (Montreal)
Audrey Mascarenhas – Questor Technology (Calgary)

Milla Craig – Millani Perspectives (Montreal)
Tania Caceres – Risk Nexus (Toronto)
Laura Zizzo – Zizzo Strategy (Toronto)

Dr. Eric Bauce – Université Laval (Québec City)
Dr. David Bell – Learning for a Sustainable Future (Toronto)
David Dodge – Green Energy Futures (Edmonton)
Kelly Drennan – Fashion Takes Action (Toronto)
Dr. Walter Mérida – Clean Energy Research Centre, UBC (Vancouver)

Financial & Services
Christine Bergeron – Vancity Savings Credit Union (Vancouver)
David Berliner – CoPower* (Montreal)
Raphael Bouskila – CoPower* (Montreal)
Trish Nixon – CoPower* (Montreal)
Nancy Wright – GLOBE Series (Vancouver)

Manufacturing & Transportation
Andrew Hejnar MScEnM, P.Eng – 3M Canada Company (Brockville/London)
Karen Hamberg – Westport Fuel Systems (Vancouver)
Judson Whiteside – Magna International (Aurora, ON)

Primary Resources
Lorraine Mitchelmore – Shell Canada, Smart Prosperity (Calgary)
Joel Baziuk – Steveston Harbour Authority (Richmond B.C.)
Gregg Curwin – TruLeaf (Halifax)

Public Sector
Hon. Rachel Notley Premier – Province of Alberta – MLA for Edmonton-Strathcona
Glen Murray – Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Province of Ontario – MPP Toronto-Center (Toronto)
Dr. Dianne Saxe – Environmental Commissioner of Ontario (Toronto)

Research and Development
Dr. Michel Laberge – General Fusion (Burnaby, B.C.)
Prof. Majid Bahrami – Simon Fraser University (Vancouver)
Dr. David Bressler – University of Alberta, Biorefining Conversions Network (Edmonton)
Kevin Moran – Titanium Corporation (Edmonton)

Renewable Energy
Juergen Puetter – Blue Fuel Energy (Sidney B.C.)
Annette Verschuren – NRStor* (Toronto)
Christian Wentzel CFA – Solar Provider Group (Toronto)

Stuart Lombard – ecobee (Toronto)
Jenise Lee – CertClean (Toronto)
Cedric Tetzel – London Drugs (Richmond, BC)

Technology & Telecom
Howard Chang – Top Drawer (Toronto)
Alex Mifflin – The Water Brothers TV Series* (Toronto)
Tyler Mifflin – The Water Brothers TV Series* (Toronto)

Traditional Power Generation
Anthony Haines – Toronto Hydro (Toronto)
Cara Clairman – Plug’n Drive (Toronto)

Emerging Leaders
Claire Benne – Wilfrid Laurier University (Kitchener –Waterloo)
Kevin Davies – Hop Compost (Calgary)
Joanna Kyriazis – Zizzo Strategy* (Toronto)
Ruth Legg – HSBC Bank Canada (Vancouver)
Tikvah Mindorff – Niagara Sustainability Initiative (St. Catherines)
G(St. Catherines)
Geoff Osborne – NRStor* (Toronto)
Emily Partington – WSP (Toronto)
Apoorv Sinha – Carbon Upcycling Technologies (Calgary)
Serguei Tchertok – Grand & Toy (Toronto)
Andrew White – CHAR Technologies (Toronto)
*Denotes recipient is a member of a team